Archive for the ‘Releases’ Category

The Black Dog – Sound Of Sheffield Vol. 01


The Black Dog’s “Sound of Sheffield” is the first of four EP’s aimed straight at the dance floor, using the sounds of the city to echo Sheffield’s heritage in creating electronic music. These tracks have been fully road tested, built to bring people to the front and forcing them to lose it with abandonment.

Celebrating 25 years of existence, The Black Dog have never lost sight of the dance floor and the pleasure of just being somewhere different entertaining an enthusiastic crowd. After all these years they still take great enjoyment from doing this. In this world of increasing individual invasion, it’s even more crucial to appreciate this space that we still seemingly have to ourselves.

Here’s to the next 25 years

The Black Dog / Happa Scan 9 From SoYo™ / Red Place (Bleep)


Time for a new single release from us and this time on a joint release with Happa as part of ‘The Green Series’ 12″s from Warp and

This is very limited edition vinyl which comes in a very tasty package from design collective GiveUpArt and photographer Shaun Bloodworth. Each copy will be presented in a beautifully presented deluxe art package.

Samples, full details and order information are available now exclusively at

[dustv040] The Black Dog – Werk+Play EP


As part of our KickStarter campaign we are going to use the CS X51 to create, mix and master all the tracks on this EP. Well, we say EP but it’s actually going to be more of an album with at least 40 minutes worth of exclusive music. We’re really go to see where the music takes us while documenting the path and process for people to see.

We’ll be presenting a wide spectrum of our styles, tracks aimed at the floor as well as some more ambient and experimental pieces that we’ve been working on. Like Penthouse & Pavement this release is a game of two halves and will be recorded here at Dog Towers.

Be part of the journey and get your hands on this upcoming release by supporting our KickStarter project. With your help, we can create something special and help to bring some manufacturing back to Sheffield.

The Black Dog Werk + Play EP 
1. Atavistic Resurgence (Bass Mix)
2. For The Love Of Megatron
3. Forged From SoYo
4. Ov Wires (Vocals By Regis)
5. Truncated
6. Northern Grin Eye
7. Liquid Psychotherapy Validation
8. Wrong Pocket
9. Aestated
10. Bolt a03293h4
11. BassTrap
12. Theme For The Socialist Republic Of South Yorkshire

Get this release and back the project here:

A Hymn For Megatron


This is a small piece recorded in a 60 degree heat in the studio and dedicated to the underground world in SoYo™ – Megatron (Google it), it’s not our usual thing but we’ve never boxed ourselves in and always done what we wanted to.

Enjoy it, it’s free.

Tranklements – Available to Pre-Order Now


The new album Tranklements is available for pre-order now at and

[dustv038] Limited Edition 3 x 12″ Vinyl
* Limited edition, only 300 units
* 3 x 12″ on heavy weight 180gsm vinyl
* Free digital download of the album from
* Two free bonus tracks as digital downloads exclusive to

[dustcd038] CD & Download
* Includes two free bonus tracks as digital downloads, exclusive to and

Info, Samples and Links

The Black Dog – Dark Wave Vol. 10


It’s been a while since we did a Dark Wave mix but we really enjoyed doing this one.

The Black Dog – Dark Wave 10
00. Coil – Teenage Lightning (Surgeon remix) – CDR
01. Function – Voiceprint – Ostgut Ton
02. The Black Dog – Broken Mind – Dust Science
03. Benjamin Damage – Delirium Tremens (tBd Headkicker Remix) – 50 Weapons
04. Noah Pred – Loss For Words (Hrdvsion Boomboom Mix) – Thoughtless Music
05. Lucy – Finnegan (Pariah Remix) – Curle Recordings
06. The Black Dog – Cracked – Dust Science
07. Tripeo – Untitled #4 – Tripeo
08. Trade – Half Nelson – Works The Long Nights
09. Shape Worship- Quilt 2 – Exotic Plylon Records
10. Ital Tek- Hyper Real – Civil Music
11. Tripeo – Untitled #3 – Tripeo
12. Shifted – Trouble – Mote Evolver
13. Inigo Kennedy – Chamber – Token Records
14. The Black Dog – Council Flat Emptiness (LB Dub Corp) – Unterton